Prof. Jacques Besson
Jacques Besson (born in 1963) obtained his PhD in 1990 on ceramic powder processing from Ecole des Mines de Paris. He continued working on powder processing during his post-doc at UC-Santa Barbara (1990-91).
After entering CNRS (1992), he started working on rupture of metals (ductile, brittle, transition, creep). He has published more than 120 peer reviewed papers and has collaborated to four books. He spent a sabbatical leave at HZG (former GKSS) in 2000 and at Electricité de France (Moret-sur-Loing) in 2005. He is now research professor at CNRS and currently head of the "Centre des Matériaux" CNRS-UMR 7633. His work combines experimental investigations and advanced numerical techniques to better understand failure of materials and structures.
Prof. Meinhard Kuna
Tel:+49 (0) 3731 39 2092
Meinhard Kuna studied physics at the Technical University in Magdeburg, Germany. He graduated as PhD in 1977 at the institute for Solid State Physics at the Academy of Science in Halle, dealing with the development of finite element methods in fracture mechanics. Later, he has been working as the head of research departments at Fraunhofer Institute for Mechanics of Materials in Freiburg and at Materials Testing Institute at University of Stuttgart.
Since 1997, Prof. Kuna is professor of Applied Mechanics and Solid Mechanics at the Technische Universität Bergakademie Freiberg in Germany. His research is devoted to fundamental and applied problems in fracture mechanics, damage mechanics and fatigue crack growth. In particular, his group is developing numerical methods (FEM, BEM, DEM) and software-tools for analyzing safety and lifetime of structural components. Another topic is the constitutive modelling of material behavior on the continuum level and on the micromechanical scale, with special focus on failure and damage processes. Of special interest are brittle and ductile failure mechanisms in metals and ceramics, and multi-field problems in smart materials. The experimental work is focused on miniaturized materials testing.
Prof. Kuna published more than 400 articles in international journals or conference proceedings. He was honored by the TEXTY award for his book about Finite Elements in Fracture Mechanics in 2013. He is engaged in academic societies like German Fracture Group, German Research Foundation and European Structural Integrity Society. Since 2015, Prof. Kuna is an Editor-in-Chief of the international journal Engineering Fracture Mechanics.
Prof. Andrzej Neimitz
Tel:+48 413 424 307
Prof. Andrzej Neimitz is a professor at Kielce University of Technology, he was a founder (1987) and President of the Polish Fracture Group, member of ESIS Council for 30 years, vice-president of ESIS (2006-2010). In 2002 he was a co-chairman of the ESIS European Conference on Fracture. He was involved in various fracture problems: fast crack growth, fracture in creep environment, constraints in elastic-plastic problems, fracture mechanisms, modelling in fracture, structural integrity. He visited several research centres abroad: Northwestern University, 1979-1980, Michigan Technological University 1984-1985, EMPA Dubendorf 1991, Imperial College, London, 1995, Rautaruuki, Finland, 2011. He published about 190 journal and conference papers in the most prestigious fracture mechanics journals. He is a member of several Research Committees and Societies in Poland and abroad. He is a member of the several editorial boards of research journals in Poland and abroad. He took part in five European projects and many grants from Polish National Centre of Science. He was awarded among others with ESIS Award of Merit, ESIS Honorary Membership, Prof. Stanislaw Kocanda Medal, doctor honoris causa from Kielce University of Technology.
Prof. Zhiliang Zhang
Prof Zhiliang Zhang, founder of NTNU Nanomechanical Lab since 2006, executive committee member of the European Structural Integrity Society (2010-2022), has been supervisor and co-supervisor of in total more than 44 PhDs and post docs, and 40 master students at Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU). Before being appointed as a full Professor in Mechanics and Materials at the NTNU in 2003, Zhang had worked at SINTEF Materials Technology, Trondheim, for 9 years, and played a central role in building up the competence of the Fracture Mechanics group to an international level. Prof. Zhang was elected as the chairman of the 20th European Conference on Fracture (ECF20) 2014 by the Council of the European Structural Integrity Society (ESIS). Prof. Zhang started his research in nanomechanics and nanotechnology when he was a visiting scientist at Harvard University in 2000 and 2001. Currently he focuses on fracture mechanics, hydrogen embrittlement, interface mechanics, material design and nanomechanics by using combined experimental and multi-scale computational simulation approaches. During the last 13 years Prof. Zhang has been the project leader at NTNU for 12 externally funded projects with a total budget over 77 million NOK. He has published about 220 scientific papers (140 journal papers and 80 conference papers) with the latest ones as an corresponding author published in top journals such as Nature Communications, Nano Letters, Nanoscale, SMALL, Journal of the American Chemical Society (JACS), Journal of Mechanics and Physics of Solids (JMPS), Polymer and Acta Materialia.